Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Preview

Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Preview

Written by Michael Hunt on Tuesday,November 21, 2017 8:29, EDT

If you can’t wait to get your 2017 Famous Idaho Potato Bowl bets in, then you have come to the right place. MyBookie.ag will have live betting odds available for every 2017 Bowl game as soon as the matchups are released.

Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Preview

This bowl was created in 1997 to give the Big West champion an automatic bowl tie-in. After the 1996 season, the Big West – which no longer competes in Division I football – lost its automatic tie with the Las Vegas Bowl. The conference tie-ins have changed over the years in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl, as has the name of the game itself.  Currently, it’s supposed to feature a team from the Mountain West Conference against one of the Mid-American.

I say supposed to because last year, the bowl committee chose to take in-state Idaho of the Sun Belt Conference to face Colorado State of the Mountain West. The result was an offensive extravaganza as Idaho won 61-50 as a 13.5-point underdog. Vandals QB Matt Linehan was 21 of 31 for 381 yards with four touchdowns and no interception in winning game MVP honors. It was the third-highest scoring bowl game in history.

The 84 points in the second half were the most combined in a half in any bowl game ever. A big reason why Idaho was chosen because the school is moving down to the lower-level FCS following this season, and the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl wanted to reward the in-state school with perhaps its final bowl game. That will be the case as it turns out because Idaho won’t qualify in 2017.

Two future big-name NFL quarterbacks played in this bowl game: Nevada’s Colin Kaepernick and Boston College’s Matt Ryan, the 2016 NFL MVP with the Atlanta Falcons.  Boise State has played in the bowl in its home stadium four times, tied with Utah State for the most. Also, the most rushing yards in any bowl game in history was 307 by Georgia Tech’s P.J. Daniels in the 2004 version of the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl.

Recent Editions Results

  • 2016: Idaho 61 – Colorado State 50
  • 2015: Akron 23 – Utah State 21
  • 2014: Air Force 38 – Western Michigan 24
  • 2013: San Diego State 49 – Buffalo 24
  • 2012: Utah State 41 – Toledo 15
  • 2011: Ohio 24 – Utah State 23
  • 2010: Northern Illinois 40 – Fresno State 17
  • 2009: Idaho 43 – Bowling Green 42
  • 2008: Maryland 42 – Nevada 35
  • 2007: Fresno State 40 – Georgia Tech 28
  • 2006: Miami (FL) 21 – Nevada 20
  • 2005: Boston College 27 – Boise State 21
  • 2004: Fresno State 37 – Virginia 34