Super Bowl 51 Betting Analysis Reveals MVP Odds & Picks

Posted by Eric Williams on Saturday,January 28, 2017 9:05, EST in

If you’re looking to cash in on many of the stupendous props odds and side wagers surrounding the quickly-approaching Super Bowl 51 matchup between the New England Patriots and Atlanta Falcons, then you’re in luck!

Thanks to the expert analysis and prediction that you’re about to get on the possible Super Bowl 51 MVP winner, you’re going to be able to maximize your chances of cashing in on this fun-filled, yet value-packed wager.

Okay, let’s get down to business and before you wager on NFL playoffs, click here to cash in on the updated Super Bowl 51 promos.

Super Bowl 51 Betting Analysis Reveals MVP Odds & Picks



To Win Super Bowl LI MVP Odds

Chris Hogan +3500
Danny Amendola +7000
Devonta Freeman +1800
Dion Lewis +1800
Donta Hightower +12500
James White +9000
Julian Edelman +1400
Julio Jones +900
LaGarrette Blount +1800
Martellus Bennett +6500
Matt Ryan +150
Mohamed Sanu +3500
Stephen Gostkowski +7000
Tevin Coleman +2500
Tom Brady -125
Vic Beasley Jr. +3000

Super Bowl MVP History

Legendary Green Bay Packers quarterback Bart Starr won the MVP of the first two Super Bowls while fellow quarterbacks Joe Montana and Tom Brady are the only players to ever win three Super Bowl MVP awards. Former Pittsburgh Steelers signal-caller Terry Bradshaw and current New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning have also won two Super Bowl MVP awards, though Starr and Bradshaw are the only players to have won it in consecutive years.

The MVP has come from the winning team every year except 1971, when Dallas Cowboys linebacker Chuck Howley won the award by picking off two passes and forcing one fumble. Now legendary Dallas Cowboys defensive end Harvey Martin and linebacker Randy White were named co-MVPs of Super Bowl 12, which marks the only time co-MVP were selected.

Quarterbacks have taken home the MVP hardware 27 times in 50 affairs. Oakland Raiders Hall of Fame running back Marcus Allen is the youngest player to have won the award (23) while fellow Hall of Fame quarterback John Elway (Denver Broncos) is the oldest player to ever take hoe the MVP trophy.

Former Washington Redskins quarterback Mark Rypien and Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Hines Ward are the only players born outside the United States to win the Super Bowl MVP award, having been born in Canada and South Korea, respectively. Now, here is a look at the Super Bowl winners by position.

Super Bowl MVPs by position

Position – Total

Quarterback 27
Running back 7
Wide receiver 6
Linebacker 4
Defensive end 2
Safety 2
Cornerback 1
Defensive tackle 1
Kick returner/punt returner 1

Last 10 Super Bowl MVP Winners

Year-Super Bowl – Winner – Team – Position

2007 – XLI – Peyton Manning – Indianapolis Colts – Quarterback
2008 – XLII – Eli Manning – New York Giants – Quarterback
2009 – XLIII – Santonio Holmes – Pittsburgh Steelers – Wide receiver
2010 – XLIV – Drew Brees – New Orleans Saints – Quarterback
2011 – XLV – Aaron Rodgers – Green Bay Packers Quarterback
2012 – XLVI Eli Manning (2) – New York Giants – Quarterback
2013 – XLVII – Joe Flacco – Baltimore Ravens – Quarterback
2014 – XLVIII – Malcolm Smith – Seattle Seahawks – Linebacker
2015 – XLIX – Tom Brady (3) – New England Patriots – Quarterback
2016 – 50 – Von Miller – Denver Broncos – Linebacker

As you can see, quarterbacks have taken home the Super Bowl MVP hardware seven times in the last 10 championship matchups, but a linebacker has won the award in two of the last three seasons. For Super Bowl 51, I’m going to urge you to back a handful of players and I’m going to provide the order you should back them in as well.

If you like the Falcons to get the Super Bowl upset, then you’ve got to start with quarterback Matt Ryan. My fellow Philadelphian has played at an MVP caliber level all season long and looked more than worthy of the award in each of the Falcons two playoff wins coming into Super Bowl 51. If Ryan does have a great game, it’ll likely be because he’s connecting early and often with superstar wide receiver Julio Jones, my second pick to bag the MVP trophy. It doesn’t matter how good an opponent’s defense or the specific cornerbacks is that Jones may be facing, there’s absolutely no one on the planet that can stop him.


Get up to $1000 SU Bonus today!

Next, I’m going with a pick for New England’s Tom Brady. The bottom line is that if New England wins, it’ll likely be because Brady torched the Falcons mediocre defense. Next up, I’m going with a pick for either of Atlanta’s running backs, Devonta Freeman or Tevin Campbell. The pair could expose New England linebackers, much like they’ve burned opposing linebackers all season long and one or both could be real difference-makers in Super Bowl 51.

If I had to pick a defensive player, it would easily be falcons’ all-world linebacker Vic Beasley. Not only did Beasley lead the league in sacks this season, but he could make life hell on the mostly immobile Brady if the Patriots don’t get him blocked consistently. Last but not least, if I had to pick another Patriots player besides Brady to win the Super Bowl MVP, it would be the Dion Lewis because of his versatility as a runner/returner and pass-catcher.

So, in short order, here are my selections to win the Super Bowl 51 MVP in order.

Matt Ryan
Julio Jones
Tom Brady
Devonta Freeman
Tevin Campbell
Vic Beasley
Dion Lewis