Hockey Betting: 2014-2015 NHL Awards

Written by Alex Murphy on Wednesday,July 8, 2015 1:24, EDT

The always fun NHL Awards took place on June 24th in Las Vegas, wrapping up the 2014-2015 season. The big winner of the night was Carey Price who is going home with four awards including the Hart Trophy and Vezina. Price is only the second Canadian player to earn four awards in one season, with Guy Lafleur accomplishing the same feat in 1977.

Below is a list of all winners and some thoughts on the proceedings. While it was no surprise that Carey Price was the man of the hour, there were multiple other awards in which the voting shocked many hockey betting fans.



General Manager of the Year



Winner: Steve Yzerman (Tampa Bay)
Second: Glen Sather (New York Rangers)
Third: Bob Murray (Anaheim)

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award




Winner: Jonathan Toews (Chicago)
Finalists: Ryan Getzlaf (Anaheim) & Andrew Ladd (Winnipeg)

Foundation Player Award




Winner: Brent Burns (San Jose)
Finalists: Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers) & Mark Giordano (Calgary)

King Clancy Trophy


Winner: Henrik Zetterberg (Detroit)

William M. Jennings Trophy



Winners: Corey Crawford (Chicago) and Carey Price (Montreal)

Jack Adams Award



Winner: Bob Hartley (Calgary)
Second: Alain Vigneault (New York Rangers)
Third: Peter Laviolette (Nashville)

Bill Masterton Trophy




Winner: Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota)
Finalists: Kris Letang (Pittsburgh) Andrew Hammond (Ottawa)

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy


Winner: Alex Ovechkin (Washington)

Frank J. Selke Trophy




Winner: Patrice Bergeron (Boston)
Second: Jonathan Toews (Chicago)
Third: Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles)

Ted Lindsay Award


Winner: Carey Price (Montreal)

Art Ross Trophy




Winner: Jamie Benn (Dallas)
Second: John Tavares (New York Islanders)

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy



Winner: Jiri Hudler (Calgary)
Second: Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit)
Third: Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles)

Vezina Trophy


Winner: Carey Price (Montreal)
Second: Pekka Rinne (Nashville)
Third: Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota)

Calder Memorial Trophy




Winner: Aaron Ekblad (Florida)
Second: Mark Stone (Ottawa)
Third: Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary)

James Norris Memorial Trophy


Winner: Erik Karlsson (Ottawa)
Second: Drew Doughty (Los Angeles)
Third: P.K. Subban (Montreal)

Hart Memorial Trophy


Winner: Carey Price (Montreal)
Second: Alex Ovechkin (Washington)
Third: John Tavares (New York Islanders)

One area of controversy has to do with the Jack Adams Award? Should Alain Vigneault have won it?

Vigneault was undoubtedly a valid finalist. He led the Rangers to their best single-season record ever, at 53-22-7, as well as the most road wins (28) in franchise history. Moreover, the Rangers’ 113 points were enough to clinch the Presidents’ Trophy as the best team in the league.

It might not feel fair for the New York Rangers organization to wind up zero for three after all the awards were handed out, but the Jack Adams Award definitely went to the right person.

Hartley was recognized for leading his team to a major comeback. After an unsuccesful 2013-14 season, the Flames climbed higher in the standings this year by 20 points (45-30-7, 97 points) for the third highest jump in the entire league.

Plus, prior to the 2014-15 season, the Flames hadn’t made a postseason appearance in five straight seasons. This postseason, the Flames beat the Vancouver Canucks to move on to Round Two in which they would eventually fall to the Anaheim Ducks.

Success isn’t always measured by where you end up. Sure, they didn’t win the Presidents’ Trophy or make it past the second round, but the Flames’ improvement this year has been astounding under Hartley’s guidance.

The NHL Broadcaster’s Association were spot on. If it weren’t for the Flames’ comeback under Hartley, Vigneault should’ve earned it. But, of course, Hartley did incredible things in Calgary and deserves the just recognition for it.


NHL.com: http://www.nhl.com/ice/player.htm?id=8470201
YahooSports.com: http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/teams/nyr/